Skip to main content

Habits of a compulsive eater.

1 - you planned a meal around a binge.  Chips is a biggie for me - when I want chips I usually plan a meal around it - hamburgers, sandwiches, something that GOES with chips.  Then I eat the chips while I'm preparing, put chips with my "meal" and then get seconds while I still have "meal" on my plate.  Then - there's that leftover bag and that gets eaten in the kitchen while everyone else is watching TV and the bag disappears. 
2 - you take the longer way home because you want to finish off "xyz" from the grocery store.  This is for when you buy the king size or large bag.  I can scarf a normal size candy bar in the .5 miles from grocery to home.  But larger than a normal candy bar and I take a route that goes away from home before it goes to home.  And because I haven't committed to what time I'll be home, nobody is the wiser.  Except chocolate breath - that's my 'tell'. 
3 - secret eating: storing food 'hidden' in the house.  This doesn't usually last too long for me - but for foods I can't finish in the car on the way home, they get 'stashed' until I have an opportunity to eat them.  And there's not much else I can think of until they're all gone.  Food has kept me awake at night. 
4 - Justifying the 'sale':  buy 2, get 2 free - I mean, I'm buying one, so all I have to do is buy one more and I get FOUR - I mean, mathmatically, that's pure genius, right?  And I'm all about frugal - and my addicted brain is happy to do that math.  Buy one get one free.  I mean, FREE people - free food has no calories, right? And why are apples never buy one get one free - or bananas - or any fruits or vegetables?  Only chips, sod, and candy.  Or at least it seems like it to me! 
5 - the illusion of control:  I will only have 2 cookies.  Only 2 more.  Ok - one more and then I'm done...hey, wait - who ate all the cookies?  Couldn't have been me, I only had 2...at a time...right? 
6 - it's healthy, so eating a LOT doesn't count.  This is one only an addict understands.  Brocolli is good for you.  2 pounds of broccolli is compulsive eating.  Same for sugar free pudding, watermelon, cucumber, ground turkey, etc. 

I know there's lots more.  What are your "compulsive eating" habits? 

TTFN,
LauraLynne

PS.  most of the way through Day 1.  so far, so good.

Comments

Mad Woman said…
But it's cheese. That's healthy right? And if I eat half a block of cheese grated onto my plate of spaghetti, that counts as my dairy portion. Right?


Truthfully, you just listed a bunch of stuff I am STILL struggling with.
If the kids make me mad, or spouse or 'people', I am guaranteed 'feel better' food until I feel better. It doesn't count.

I've been good. I deserve___xyz___

Feeling like a failure means I need a pick me up. Sugar. When I'm tossing creamy fluffy into my abyss, it doesn't matter how deep the hole is. It needs to be filled.

Popular posts from this blog

Today starts no sugar

This feels harder than no candy and no chips. And it started by throwing the oreos in the GARBAGE. And not the trash at my house - no, these went into the trash at the bus stop. Bye bye. (I'm imagining some homeless dude chowing down on his amazing find...) Now I need to grocery shop and fill my house with fruits and veggies! TTFN, LauraLynne

that little voice in my head is an a**hole

I haven't been as heavy as I am now (250) in almost 2 decades.  I forgot how hard it is.  Physically and mentally.  And I'm spiraling lately.  It's been so very hard.  Everything has been hard.  I've been struggling with my weight - the pure numbers - my clothes, my ability to do simple daily activities, my self loathing, my eating.  Everything.  I feel like this literally effects every single aspect of my life.  And I HATE it.  H.A.T.E.  This weekend was especially brutal on me.  I am a retired motorcycle racer and now I work for a track time organization and ride during their events.  My race suit was custom made about 15 years ago.  It still has lots of life left in it.  But it was custom made for 200 pound me and doesn't even come close to fitting 250 pound me.  So I finally caved and ordered another custom made suit.  I send in all my measurements and waited.  There were some hiccups and dela...

PHEW - She's a Brick....hoooouse....no, wait.

Ok.  So tonight I planned on running.  Came home, sat down for  little while.  Forced myself to get up and put on my running clothes.  Went out the front door...was NOT feeling it.  Came back inside disppointed.  Sat down.  Got up, changed shoes, pulled out the spinner (stationary bike) and put a scary movie on.  Biked for 1 hour 3 minutes.  about 1 hour 2 min. in I decided I was going to put in a mile run afterwards - in triathalon training it's called a "brick".  It's meant to simulate the transition from one event to another.  From swim to bike or from bike to run.  Doing a brick teaches you just how it feels - in this case my legs were JELLO from the biking.  But I ran.  One mile.  in 12 min. 42 seconds - not too shabby!!  But better than that - I broke my streak of "nothing".  And I had a good dinner, one piece of flatbread pizza and a large tomato salad (no pictures, sorry).  About 200...