Skip to main content

Friday check in

Ok - I've decided that since part of the drive to start a blog was to be accountible for my weigh ins. Friday. That's the day. I will start reporting my weight on Fridays. Today it's 222.4 pounds.
I'm still struggling with how to format this blog - to keep it organized and, perhaps, make it interesting and helpful for other people. I've been reading other blogs and I'm SO not worthy - I want to just quote so much of what I read because they say what I'm feeling and thinking in a much more witty and entertaining way. so far I'm talking to myself - but maybe someday someone out there will stumble on my blog and read it. or not. But I want to document what I'm feeling and going through on good days and bad. Good days so I have something to read back on when I'm struggling and bad so I can look back and find the lesson.
Going on in my brain today is the idea of food as a reward. Get a project done early? Chocolate!! A pat on the head but with a lot more calories. Didn't eat more than one bagel - cream cheese for everyone! It starts as a kid - but as an adult I shouldn't NEED a reward. A job well done should be it's own reward.
*WHATEVER!*
But I want chocolate. Or chips. Or a second helping of *fill in the blank* My brian immediately goes to "I DESERVE IT!!" complete with stomping feet and raised voice. Where does this come from? And how do I make it go away? Do I go without or find a substitute. I'm NOT falling for the 'stickers instead of a sucker' crap. And besides, what am *I* going to do with stickers? Hey everyone - look at all my gold stars! 10,000 more and I get a new car...! um. NO. I have to find a way to focus on the goal - that SHOULD be my reward. A body I'm proud of, a wardrobe that fits, nobody criticizing my grocery selection.
In December I did a hypnotherapy session with a great friend of mine. I will go into details another time but for the purpose of my point today, she had me visualize what my body would look like at my ideal weight. I looked down (virtually) and saw it. I had narrow hips, knees that were amazing, leg definition, less busty - I could SEE it. I wish I could plug my brain into a printer and print that image out. And look at it as my reward. Because that WILL be my reward. I want to figure out how to make the image come up in my brain at will so that I can use it to distract and remind myself of the goal.

but for now - it's Friday - and I'm about to face a weekend of eating opportunities. I have been reading about "resistance muscles" (Beck maybe?) and this weekend I will need them. Weekends are challenging for me. too much time and opportunity.

Until next time!

TTFN,
LauraLynne

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Today starts no sugar

This feels harder than no candy and no chips. And it started by throwing the oreos in the GARBAGE. And not the trash at my house - no, these went into the trash at the bus stop. Bye bye. (I'm imagining some homeless dude chowing down on his amazing find...) Now I need to grocery shop and fill my house with fruits and veggies! TTFN, LauraLynne

that little voice in my head is an a**hole

I haven't been as heavy as I am now (250) in almost 2 decades.  I forgot how hard it is.  Physically and mentally.  And I'm spiraling lately.  It's been so very hard.  Everything has been hard.  I've been struggling with my weight - the pure numbers - my clothes, my ability to do simple daily activities, my self loathing, my eating.  Everything.  I feel like this literally effects every single aspect of my life.  And I HATE it.  H.A.T.E.  This weekend was especially brutal on me.  I am a retired motorcycle racer and now I work for a track time organization and ride during their events.  My race suit was custom made about 15 years ago.  It still has lots of life left in it.  But it was custom made for 200 pound me and doesn't even come close to fitting 250 pound me.  So I finally caved and ordered another custom made suit.  I send in all my measurements and waited.  There were some hiccups and dela...

PHEW - She's a Brick....hoooouse....no, wait.

Ok.  So tonight I planned on running.  Came home, sat down for  little while.  Forced myself to get up and put on my running clothes.  Went out the front door...was NOT feeling it.  Came back inside disppointed.  Sat down.  Got up, changed shoes, pulled out the spinner (stationary bike) and put a scary movie on.  Biked for 1 hour 3 minutes.  about 1 hour 2 min. in I decided I was going to put in a mile run afterwards - in triathalon training it's called a "brick".  It's meant to simulate the transition from one event to another.  From swim to bike or from bike to run.  Doing a brick teaches you just how it feels - in this case my legs were JELLO from the biking.  But I ran.  One mile.  in 12 min. 42 seconds - not too shabby!!  But better than that - I broke my streak of "nothing".  And I had a good dinner, one piece of flatbread pizza and a large tomato salad (no pictures, sorry).  About 200...